There are many shallow areas that can come up fast so always stay between the RED & GREEN channel markers to avoid running aground.
To avoid damage to the prop, please stay clear of any buoys or trap markers, and if you get stuck, trim the motor up and shift the weight to the front of the boat.
There are designated NO WAKE ZONES and SLOW SPEED MINIMUM WAKE signsthat are clearly marked so please obey at all times. This rule is taken very seriously and is cause to be stopped.
When you are approached by a large boat in the channel, slow down as their wake could swamp the boat.
MARINE GARMIN GPS will be onboard to help navigate the channels, water depth and your location. A tutorial will be given prior to leaving the dock.
BEACHING THE BOAT IS PROHIBITED. The boat must be floating at all times. Damage can be done easily to the boat if it is beached.
Drop the anchor first when ANCHORING THE BOAT. To set the anchor, pull the rope taught. When bringing the anchor on board, please rinse it off and take care not to damage the boat.
When stopping and turning off the engine, pull the key out of the ignition to avoid draining the battery.
ALWAYS put the ladder up before the boat is moved. It will cause damage if it is left down.
Remember the rule of RED RIGHT RETURN when returning from the sea. The red channel marker will be on your right. It will be on the left side when headed out to sea.
Florida Boating Laws
LIFE JACKETS: Children 6 years and under are required to wear a USCG approved life jacket at all times while onboard the boat, and any child over 6 years and under 90 lbs is required to have a life jacket available when the boat is moving. Life jackets are easily accessible for everyone on board. (Infant/Child/Youth life jackets are subject to availability.)
INFANTS: Are not recommended to come aboard. If they are brought on board, the renter assumes all responsibility and liability. And must provide a USCG approved life jacket-sized 8-30 lbs. if not available by Twisted Anchor Boats, LLC.
ALCOHOL IS PROHIBITED WHILE DRIVING. A BUI (Boating Under the Influence) will go on your record permanently.
DRIVER/OPERATORTwisted Anchor Boats, LLC requires the designated driver, signed on the contract, to be at least 25 years of age and have a valid drivers license. (See below if born after January 1, 1988.)
FLORIDA LAW REQUIRES anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 to have completed a Boating Safety Course in order to operate a boat. A Florida Boat Renter Temporary Certificate can be obtained on-line for $9.99 at: https://www.boat-ed.com/floridarental/
FISHING: OUR PONTOONS ARE NOT FISHING MODELS. However if you do fish please be aware of the State laws and Twisted Anchor Rental guidelines below and possible extra cleaning charges.
Florida law requires that anyone 16 or older obtain a Florida Fishing License. They can be purchased at Walmart, Keys Marina/Island Discount Tackle in Holmes Beach, Manatee Tax Collector Office, or online at: www.gooutdoorsflorida.com
A non-resident three day fishing license can be purchased for $17.00 as well.
IT IS THE DRIVERS RESPONSIBILITY TO KEEP EVERYONE ONBOARD, OTHER VESSELS ON THE WATER AND THEIR PASSENGERS SAFE. All safety equipment and rules and regulations will be reviewed before driving the boat.
Per Rental agreement, you will be held responsible for any damage to the vessel and may incur an extra cleaning charge which is subject to inspection.